diet, weight loss

Ketosis Yo-Yo

Weight: 273lbs
Ketosis: Varying

Today I awoke to discover I was in trace level ketosis. Again. I’m not sure what the hey, but I can say with some authority this is ticking me off. I went over everything I ate last night and couldn’t identify anything which might be a problem from the carbohydrate perspective.

On the other hand, I did eat my wife’s chocolate mousse, which is whipped cream with sugar free pudding whipped into a mousse-y consistency. It’s very rich (with all that fat, duh), so I can only eat a couple of bites.

The only other thing is, I fought a headache all morning on Saturday. I had to nuke it with sinus pills and acetaminophen, and a couple of ibuprofen for good measure. Yes, the headache went away, but could this be affecting my ketosis level? My wife thinks so, but I can’t tell. It was more than 24 hours later, and the drugs are effective within the first six hours only. So…eh?

Still, I’m back in at a solid moderate or moderate-large level. And for the first time in a while, I saw the number on the scale be lower than usual. I’m not that invested in the scale, frankly, but I’d like to see some indication that what I’m doing is having an effect on, you know, my weight. That makes weight loss easier, don’t you think?

I’m not fully committed to going back to my food tracker spreadsheet, but I’m not interested in testing for ketosis six times a day to make sure what I’ve eaten is keeping the process alive instead of killing it. Very funky and no fun so far. One of the reasons this diet is so easy is because it’s a no-brainer; eat low-carb, add fat, don’t overeat and voila! Ketosis, which is fat-loss. So…eh?

Well, back on it. I’m not ready to give up yet, but at some point if this isn’t working I have to admit it isn’t working and find something that will. Primal, anyone?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Ketosis Yo-Yo

  1. mysleepingdragon says:

    Sugar free pudding has carb fillers. I make LC mousse with just whipped cream, flavouring of some sort and gel it with melted plain gelatine. It may be the reason for the trace reading.

    Yeah, we’re pretty sure (well…I am anyway) the mousse is the problem. I switched back to the other LC dessert my wife concocts and I was in as of this morning at a moderate level. 😀 Thank you for sticking with me!

  2. Hi! I’m sorry you’re having trouble staying in ketosis. It can be SO frustrating not knowing the source of the problem. I’m currently a student at USC, writing a dissertation on the ketogenic metabolism, and just published an eBook, “No-Plateau Keto” discussing how to speed up ketosis, bust plateaus and of course, all the sneaky things that can cause a stall. For me personally, Splenda causes it every time. Very frustrating! Knocks me straight out of ketosis. At small doses (3-4 pkgs spread throughout the day in coffee), I remain in ketosis. Anything else– Atkins Bars INCLUDED (I know, I know, horrible, huh?), spin me right into the dreaded beige.

    Thank you so much for stopping in and saying hi! and…Wow, that’s one of the most awesome descriptions I’ve ever heard! “The dreaded beige.” You must be a writer. 😉

    Unfortunately, many of us can’t do certain artificial sweeteners. Our bodies just recognize it as the real deal. I happen to be ok with Sweet and Low, but not with Splenda, Truvia or Stevia. You are doing the right thing: staying on a monitored, regulated diet while testing for ketones. It was easier for you to figure out who the culprit was. Congrats! Sometimes it just remains a mystery.

    Well, I’m very suspect of gluconeogenesis as the main issue for me right now. But more testing! And thank you for the encouragement!

    Good luck in your fight with the state, LOL Love the title of your blog. I have a ketosis info site if you’d like to check it out. It’s called MaximizeKetosis.info.
    Claudia

    Claudia, I’m off to check out your site right now. I’m also going to add your blog to my ereader. Thank you so much for coming by and good luck with your studies and your ebook. I hope to see you here regularly!

Leave a Reply

