diet, weight loss

Holding Fast

Well, nothing happening on the weight loss front. I might be down a couple of pounds — I’m still a whopping 271 by my scale — but that’s a net loss of exactly zero point zero pounds since Monday. Alas.

Nevertheless, I still feel good about things. I’m going to continue on this path and hope for the best. What else can I do? I don’t know why I’m so clingy with my body fat. I don’t know what’s happening that my fat cells don’t release their stores. I just know I can’t seem to get it to budge. But around Tuesday and Wednesday, I was downright euphoric, and I don’t intend to lose that.

Since I’ve missed my “golden time” for the ketogenic diet, and since I’ve heard it can take twelve weeks or more to start moving the numbers down, I’m not going to panic. I just need to avoid brain fog at all costs. The berries my loving and wonderfully thoughtful wife got for us as a treat might become a staple for their role in what I felt, and what I saw on the urinalysis strips, too. Nice and dark.

Also, my wife pointed out I was using more butter than coconut oil during those times. Maybe the CO isn’t as great for weight loss as I was lead to believe? I know it’s a health boon, being all MCT, but maybe for straight up eating I should switch to butter for a bit and see if it helps. Hm.

Also, more protein. As much as I decry gluconeogenesis as a potential issue, I ate a fair amount of fat and protein during those couple of days. Maybe that had something to do with it too. I wish I’d tracked what was going on with my food tracker spreadsheet! Darn it!

Oh well, I can experiment with the butter this weekend I suppose, and I’ll try a bit more protein too. I can use tuna and perhaps chicken salad to test. Lots of fat in both (at least the way I make it there is), but also loads of protein. So we’ll see.

Until then, have a good weekend, and I’ll let you all know what I find, if anything.

Standard

Leave a Reply

