diet, weight loss

Back on the Wagon

Well. I had another cheat day yesterday, I don’t mind telling you. And this time, I went with what my heart truly wanted.

  • Sourdough bread, crusty and crunchy, in a little boule.
  • Black grapes, plump and juicy.
  • Sharp (extra sharp, actually) cheddar cheese.
  • Zinfandel.
  • Real, unsalted butter.
  • Genoa salami.

Oh, I have to tell you. The eats! The eats! Lord! I was in heaven.

Only a little reflux punishment, but nothing I couldn’t handle. Overall, the satiety went through the roof, the delicious factor soared, and my happiness was off the scale. Very well worth it. I only ended up having one glass of Zin, but with tonight’s steaks, don’t for a moment think I wasn’t tempted to have a few more. Alas, nothing doing. Just the one. Now I’m stuck with a bottle of Zinfandel which will go to vinegar before my next cheat day.

But if and when I do have another cheat day, it’s going to be that again.

Bliss!

Okay, so today I’m back into my ketogenic program and did a great job. I had a VERY keto-friendly breakfast of four eggs country scrambled and cooked in lard, half a cup of sour cream and an ounce of shredded cheddar on top. Left me plenty of room for my butter, mushrooms, salad dressing and my entire 5.5oz strip steak. A couple of ounces of zucchini, too. Ah, delicious. And the numbers are right where I always seem to need them to drop weight, so we’ll see what happens tomorrow and Monday, I suppose.

I think adding almost three pounds in two days of cheating is pretty good indication I’m still extremely sensitive to insulin. In fact, it leaves me wondering whether I’ll ever be able to eat “normally” again, but as I’ve posited here more than once, I don’t expect to do that. I expect to go from this to a very carb-controlled Paleo-style program when I reach goal weight. Always secure, of course, in the knowledge I can drop back into ketogenic diet mode if necessary. Naturally at that point it would be a permanent shift, realizing I’m far too broken to ever eat a non-ketogenic diet again.

Here’s to hoping that’s not the case, though.

Standard

Leave a Reply

