diet, weight loss

Of Course! How Could it be Otherwise?

Oh, you knew it would happen, right?

As soon as I mentioned 4lbs per week as the pace of my weight loss, what do you think happened?

Of course! It dropped dramatically!

In the next two days after saying that, my weight loss fell from 4.2lbs per week to 2.8lbs per week, and today’s pace would be a staggering 1.4lbs per week! Woo! At that pace, it should only take me about 100 weeks to be where I want to be. Yay f**king me.

Still, down is down and I guess I ought to be grateful. At least it’s not stagnant or up. But I refuse — staunchly, flatly refuse — to lower my ratios any further. My carbs I’ll drop, but I’m going to have a tough, tough time accepting less than 25g/day is too high. The other macronutrients — especially protein — I’m not budgin’. F**k it.

I won’t starve on a ketogenic diet. That’s stupid. But this progress isn’t really all that great. I’ll be studying my data to see what’s going on.

As my friend says of this program, Phinney and others don’t talk about how they weigh their food and crunch their numbers, they just instinctively eat. In some ways, this makes paleo much more appealing than ketogenic. Eat fatty meat, eat good fats, and stay away from unnatural foods. Poof. Done.

*Sigh* Then again, I’d probably be eating way too much protein and not losing weight and wouldn’t be able to figure out why. At least this way, I’m down two tenths of a pound. It’s not much, but as I said, it’s better than nothing. Or worse yet, an increase.

So. Onward.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Of Course! How Could it be Otherwise?

  1. my sleeping dragon says:

    Just a bit of high expectations is all. You have done fabulous since the time I first followed you and your weight wasn’t budging at all. Now you are indeed losing weight, even if it just isn’t on your timetable. Of course, I am the pessimistic one, so I never expect any kind of miracles like weight loss to happen to me! lol.

    I feel bad when I see you write things like this, because you’ve done it before! And I KNOW, KNOW in my heart of hearts, you will succeed! Keep at it. It’s not a miracle, it’s just patience and perseverance.

    I agree with you about the lower protein thing and starvation. I couldn’t figure out why I was going insane with hunger going into ketosis, I was always fine 3 days into it. I always thought it was fat that killed the appetite, I am not so sure now.

    I think it’s a bit of both. I know too much protein causes the “false hunger pangs” because of the insulin response. Fat is the key to satiety, but so is getting enough for your body to BE satisfied. I’m pretty sure the amount of food I eat has dropped since February. And Phinney and Volek both say it’s about six weeks to get into nutritional ketosis.

    I think Phinney and others have a lot of insight into this, but I am like you, always struggling to make it work as explained. Just like Paleo is to you the relief of being able to enjoy relaxed eating again, my one bowl method is my relief from the madness of numbers. I am not ready to give up yet. How about we continue the numbers game until the end of the year and analyze it then?

    That sounds like a good idea. I’m not ready to jump OFF ketogenic yet, but it sure is annoying sometimes. For now, I’ll stick with the numbers game if you will. šŸ™‚ And my poor wife! I have to figure out something to do to help her. šŸ˜¦

  2. It will probably be better tomorrow. Some days are always going to be bad just because that’s the nature of weight loss. You are on the right track. šŸ™‚

    Thanks love!

    No, you don’t have to figure out anything for me! That’s my job. You just worry about you. šŸ™‚

    Well, there’s no NOT worry about you. Or the children. That’s just me. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

