diet, weight loss

Lagging and Indecision

The holidays are coming. Thanksgiving is just around the corner. My wife and I decided we’re not going to exactly cheat on the day, but we aren’t going to worry either. We want to eat and really enjoy the food. It’s all we have, honestly. We’re not drinkers, we’re not smokers any more, and we don’t gamble or spend excessively. We’ve been tightly disciplined for most of the year, so we can afford to go a little heavy on the protein one day.

No worrying about the protein count for me on the holidays. I may still have my loaf of sourdough with grapes, cheese and wine on my birthday, but for Christmas and Thanksgiving it will likely just be not monitoring my protein intake too much. I will pay for it, but it will be worth it.

For today, my weight held from yesterday. I don’t know why, because my numbers were ideal. Or, what used to be ideal, at least. For today, though, I weigh the same as yesterday and that’s better than gaining, but not the point of doing this.

Sometimes I wonder why I still am when it feels like it’s not working. Then I stop and realize I’ve dropped about 40lbs since February and suddenly, I know why again.

Hope I can keep it in sight.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Lagging and Indecision

  1. Sometimes it’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day number that we can miss the big picture. I’m down 20 since we started, so even though it’s been a hard battle, there is still progress.

    Same with you. 🙂 I wouldn’t have to keep buying you new pants if something wasn’t working right on some levels, lol. Love you!

    Thanks, love. I think it’s funny how I was saying this very thing just before I found your comment here. 🙂 LOVE YOU!

  2. thepotatowife says:

    For my 30 plus years of dieting, I never could really figure out how to handle holidays. I waver between staying 100% on my plan to letting the day be whatever it will be. Nothing seems to be all the way “right”.

    We’re having a tough time on that too. I know I’ll go over on my protein allowance, but how how much will be the decision I have to make. It’s hard!

    I failed my birthday. I am going to have to sit down and write about it to get it out of my system. Because of it, I am feeling that even slight deviations from my daily eating slides into the pit. Oh well. I continue to admire both of your strengths and determinations to continue your journeys.

    Don’t feel you failed. If you had a treat on your birthday, well — it IS your birthday! It’s only one day. You can get back on the horse, and I know you’re strong enough because you’ve done it before. Hang in there, and thank you for the kind words and encouragement. I’m looking forward to seeing you blog again; I’ve missed you!

Leave a Reply

