weight loss

Up a Half Pound? I’ll TAKE It!

I gained half a pound yesterday. That’s it. My carbs were about 8.25g, and my fat and protein went up (about 168g/78g respectively). So, I ate everything on my plate – it was all protein all the time – and only gained half a pound?

Yeah, I’ll take it.

My blood sugar today is 83 fasted. I’ll take that too.

You know what? We are so blessed. I loved it. I wish the brown and serve sausage had been better – or maybe some brats or Italian sausages instead – but the ham and bacon were wonderful, and the kids snacked on the leftovers. We didn’t touch the twice-baked potatoes or the crescent rolls, either, so BOOYAH for only gaining half a pound and still not being hungry today.

The numbers ended up ketogenic after all – 76% fat, 21% protein, and the rest carbs. Slick.

Yeah, I’ll take it. Back on the protein wagon today though, and maybe we can ditch that half pound before it migrates north.

Standard

One thought on “Up a Half Pound? I’ll TAKE It!

  1. Yeah, this year I decided — just as an experiment — to figure out what effect Thanksgiving has on my weight. Unlike you, I made no effort to be careful or healthy or anything like that. My goal was just to eat the same way as I do every Thanksgiving and file the information away in my head as an interesting factoid.

    Result?

    Thurs 2pm, just before guests arrived 12 st 7
    Fri 8am, just after showering 12 st 11 1/2

    4 1/2 pounds in 1 day??!!?? I mean, honestly, I didn’t think I was eating that much. In fact, it seemed that everyone else had more than me. Of course, I should have figured something was awry in the evening when I was so stuffed that breathing was difficult. 😉

    I suppose it’s a lesson in psychology. My eating wasn’t directed by feelings of hunger or fullness, my eating was directed by social cues. Food and eating and weight are as much about relationships as they about biology. The fact that slim parents often have slim children might be the result of environment instead of genetics. If somebody’s parents were constantly munching on one thing and another it’s actually quite reasonable for her (him?) to credit to Mom and Dad for her impressive physique — of course, she shouldn’t be too surprised when her kids get fat.

    You are what you eat; even more, though, you are who you hang with.

    Paul

    Interesting experiment, Paul. I’ve worked too hard for too long NOT to be careful, but for those who don’t worry about it, it’s an interesting aside to note how much of our eating might be tied to social structures. Good luck should you choose to lose the weight, and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

